ASkars is moving to NYC

*thud* That is sound of me passing right out at home when I heard this news because I will then be living only an hour and change away from the Viking sex/acting/book god.  Yes, Alexander Skarsgard is moving to New York City!

Vulture has a very lengthy interview with ASkars to talk about many things, including The Giver, Tarzan and True Blood, but the standout quote for me? His future plans!  To wit:

You told me before that you wanted to move to New York after True Blood was done. Is that still the plan?
Yeah! I’m actually looking at apartments in New York now. I’m in London for another three months for Tarzan, and then my plan is definitely to move to New York. I’m really excited about it. I don’t really have any plans in terms of what I want to do — movies, television, theater — but I’d love to do a play in New York. Anything that would be a break from what I’ve been doing, something different. I mean, my dad did Mamma Mia!, just after he had done a couple of dark indie films, and he had a really good time doing that. He loved it. He was like, “Fuck it! This is fun. This is different. There’s nothing wrong with fun. I’ll do it!” You know? It’s all about trying to find those projects where you get to enjoy yourself, because I think that’s when you create as well, when you’re genuinely excited about something. Then you’re not just doing it because it’s your job. After seven years on the show, where every break before was a hiatus from the show, there’s something quite exciting about not knowing what I’m going to do next. It’s a feeling I haven’t had in seven years, and I’m pretty excited about it.

Big shout out to sweetmg for the heads up! 😀

Leave a Reply

