TV Guide article on final season of True Blood

TV Guide has an article previewing the final season of True Blood and I am less enthused than ever thanks to quotes like the following:

“In  the final season, we’re telling a more personal story,” says executive producer Brian Buckner, who took over after show creator Alan Ball and executive producer Mark Hudis. “We’re going back to the original promise of the show: Bill and Sookie. People are going to be very surprised about the way we get there. There’s romance, sadness and resolution.”

So, while I’ll be checking in periodically to see what happens, I will not be watching live every Sunday and will not be recapping this season.  (In fact, for the first time in six years, I felt no qualms about accepting work shifts on Sunday evenings during the summer.  It just isn’t relevant to me any longer.)

13 responses to “TV Guide article on final season of True Blood

  1. i think this sucks, if she ends up with bill..

  2. The TV guide write-up made me throw up in my mouth a little.

  3. Yep. I have no interest in watching that story at all. Yuck!

  4. TB is finally dead to me…

  5. Hopefully the “sadness” part means Bill finally meets the true death. Even if it’s something as corny as sacrificing himself for Sookie….I just want Sookie free of him.

  6. How is that the promise of the show? Eric was only Sookie’s love interest in almost every book which the show was based.

  7. Suck big time and not in a good way. I think Eric has been relegated to the “cast of thousands” this year…

    • I am not surprised by any of this stuff said by Buckner ….they have said continuously that they want to redeem Bill and we know he cant be redeemed but they don’t care what a vast majority of fans think or want….I do see Bill dying trying to save her and dont see them together when the show ends but they will get back and have sex and I have always thought they would do that and I think A lcide might die too but he will be irrelevant to Sookie by the end whether he dies or not…Eric will still be relevant to her …I just dont know in what capacity because buckner has long drunken the Bill and Sookie soul mate kool-aid long ago but when majority of the fan base thst has not read the books doesn’t want her with Bill and want her with Eric it does tell these writers that just based upon what these people have watched that Bill will never be redeemed and Eric and Sookie have a bigger connection to the fans than Bill and Sookie ever did…its just that Buckner doesn’t care what the fans think!

  8. I agree with everything everyone said here, in spades. I am telling myself right now that I won’t watch for all the reasons you all listed and about a thousand more…BUT…there is Alex…and five minutes of Alex as Eric Northman is still the best damned five minutes I am likely to have this year. No matter my promises or my disappointments in the show and the books…a star was born, and I got to see it happen. How f-ing cool is that? Not only is he easy on the eyes the guy has talent.
    Finding him makes it worth listening to Bill and Sookie whine about whatever it is they are going to whine about in every episode, cause ladies, The Viking ROCKS!
    They gave him an average of about 20 minutes of screen time per season and he stole the show, literally, and introduced me to a character that captivates me enough to keep me busy at the keyboard most evenings.

    5 minutes is still 5 minutes and I will sip each one slowly like fine Swedish wine. 🙂

    GO VIKING! 🙂

  9. I’m also just thanking God for fan fics. Srsly. Eric will live on – and victoriously at that – so fuck The Collective at CH’s HBO-HQ.

    Ohhh, but maybe Beehl can go out in a glob of glory saving Sookie until Eric can fight his way out of whatever and get her himself and they can fly off into the moonlight all happy and shit…

  10. I am not going to purchase HBO this year, just to watch true blood like I did in the past, even though I can afford to do so this year. I am not going to pay to see that crap. Thank god for word press and Fanfiction to fill my need to Sookie and Eric story lines. I bet True blood will get the worst watcher ratings this year, with no one watching!

  11. I’m Team Eric. Bill should have met the true death after raping Sookie when she rescued him from Russell’s compound. I refuse to acknowledge Bill. Bill … blah. Eric, Eric, Eric!!! So not looking forward to the last season. How to disappoint fans by HBO; go against everyone’s desires. Sad. 😦

Leave a Reply

