Actor leaves True Blood *spoilers*

The final season hasn’t even started and one of the actors — albeit one of the newer ones — has already left the show dues to a disagreement about the “creative direction of the character.”  More details are below the Read More for those who don’t want to be spoiled.

Luke Grimes as James

Luke Grimes isn’t going to let the sunlight hit him on the way out the True Blood door…he’s already out before the season has started filming!

Michael Ausiello at TVLine is reporting that Luke Grimes, who appeared in True Blood season 6 as James, the new love interest for Deborah Ann Woll’s character Jessica, has decided to leave the show.  According to Ausiello:

Grimes’ rep declined to comment, but a source close to the Brothers & Sisters alum tells TVLine that the actor asked to be let out of his contract after he learned what producers had in store for James in Season 7. “He initially joined the show because he wanted to work with [his Forever co-star] Deborah Ann Woll,” says the insider. “But when he started reading the scripts for Season 7, he was disappointed to learn that they were going in a completely different direction with James.”

The role is going to be recast, so whatever James is going to be doing — without Jessica, apparently — is going to continue.

I dunno, guys, that doesn’t bode well for me for my expectations for season 7.   I enjoyed  Grimes as James and I wasn’t particularly invested in the character, but what concerns me is what this might say about what else is going on behind the scenes.  What could be upsetting enough to the actor that he walked away from it rather than continue for what is a relatively short period? What kind of story line are they lining up and who else might be affected? The good news here is that as we approach January, we should be getting more spoilers.

7 responses to “Actor leaves True Blood *spoilers*

  1. I think last year they made a lot of mistakes that pissed a lot of fans off. While I liked James, it pissed me off that they had Jason risk his life for Jessie to just get disrespected like that. I also think that the writers had planned a diminished Eric role and they thought James could play the local vamp stud. But with the outrage over last years finale, maybe the writers got a clue, that we want our Eric front and center. We also don’t find Violet’s abuse of Jason sexy. It would be nice if there was a Jason and Jessie reunion…

    • What annoyed me most about Jess/James is that Jess felt the need to reward him with sex after he didn’t rape her .
      Violet ‘s just a horrible character pumping Jason full of her blood so she control him. Remind you of anyone?; )
      I also hated that they had her kiss Sookie for laughs whereas the actual gay characters don’t get any screentime i.e Tara and Pam at the beach in the season opener.

  2. He also has an upcoming role in 50 Shades of Grey, doesn’t he? I don’t blame him…I’d leave too with where I suspect Season 7 is going. 😦

  3. I’d rather they just got rid of his character completely without recasting and took Violet along with him. We were told the cast numbers would get smaller by end of season 6 and they ended up killing of 2 and introducing 4 new unnecessary characters which will take screen-time away from the characters that have been there since the beginning.
    Also, how bad was the story if he choose to leave?

  4. He does have the 50 Shades movie to work on, but when is that scheduled to film? Isn’t that soon? Maybe the creative differences was only part of the reason and scheduling played more of a role than anyone has admitted.
    MistressCinder, I’m still hoping that do an Eric/Sookie storyline that I will like the final season, but that’s why I am going to spoil myself rotten before watching a single episode. I’m getting old and cranky about what I watch and want reassurance that if there is angst, there is still a satisfying ending to compensate.

  5. I agree!!! I am going to wait to see what happens, and if it is a happy ending, then I will watch them all at once. Maybe start from the beginning and go. But to have them go Bill/Sookie or some other pairing? Come on, they let us know Eric wasn’t dead when everyone was upset, so maybe do what we want and give us the Sookie/Eric ending we deserve?!!!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

