True Blood to end in 2014

HBO announced today that next summer’s season 7 of True Blood will, indeed, be the final season of the show.  Brian Buckner had said they were waiting for word on that possibility as the writers began to break this season’s episodes, a process which was scheduled to begin today.  There will be 10 episodes again next summer.  TVLine had this to say about show runner Brian Buckner.

Buckner, meanwhile, thanked “the most passionate fans in television” and promised to “do our very best to bring Sookie’s story to a close with heart, imagination and, of course, fun.”

More details from Entertainment Weekly, TVLine and E!Online.

Complete text of the HBO press release is at HBO Watch.

So, what do you think, Trubies?  I think it is time, although I genuinely hoped they would give the show enough time to bring Eric and Sookie back together at the end of the series.  Whether that will happen or not seems to be up in the air, and I’m going to reserve judgement until I get a sense of what happens next season.  It seems clear to me that Eric will not be around for the early part of the season, presumably to fit in Alexander Skarsgard’s other film projects, but that doesn’t preclude bringing Eric back for a satisfying conclusion at the end of the season.  For me, personally, if it becomes clear that they are moving towards a big Sookie and Bill reunion, however, I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to watch it.  That said, I intend to keep up to date with spoilers as they come out over the next few months so that I can try to gauge what we can expect.

3 responses to “True Blood to end in 2014

  1. vickie@mytruebloodandamericanhorrorstoryblog

    I agree with you, I think they are setting it up for Bill/Sookie end game. I just hope that we get to see a lot of Eric!!! I love your blog by the way, any blog dedicated to Eric is my kind of blog 🙂

    • I really hope that they are not going Bill/Sookie end game, but I’m nervous enough about the possibility that I’m going to refrain from watching until I have a better sense of things. Thank you SO much for the compliment on the blog! I love the great handful of people who visit and post on it so regularly. You guys are my Sooric/TB therapy support. 🙂

      • vickie@mytruebloodandamericanhorrorstoryblog

        I would love to refrain but I just cant help myself!! LOL. And you are very welcome!! I only have a handful of people as well, so I COMPLETELY understand and agree!!

        I seriously need to stop stalking Eric Northman pics!! haha, I’m starting to think I need help!

Leave a Reply

