Hollywood Reporter Q&A with Todd Lowe

The Hollywood Reporter spoke with Todd Lowe about what happened to his character — before the show aired, so they had to know something! Full article here, excerpts below the Read More.

HR: How did you find out that the show was going to kill off Terry?

Todd Lowe: I was in my car, driving, and I got a call from my reps, and it was a conference call. I hadn’t read for anything lately, so I was like, Why are my manager and my agent calling me at the same time? I had a feeling what it might be. They said, “Yeah, Terry is going to die this year.” I didn’t know how it was going to happen. A couple weeks went by and then they changed showrunners and then Brian Buckner took me out for a drink and said, “Look, listen, this is how we’re going to do it. It has nothing to do with your performance or anything. We just feel like there are a lot of people on this show, and no one ever really truly dies, and we feel that with killing Terry, he has a lot of sympathy, so I think we can get a lot of dramatic and emotional mileage out of it.” I said, “Ok, write me an aria if you can — a big scene.” And he did. It’s a nice way to go out, very poignant.

THR: What was it like shooting those final episodes?

Lowe: It was a tough six months, I’m not going to lie about that. Coming to work every day and kind of planning my suicide. I went through a bit of a depression, and I didn’t really get any of the quirky, funny Terry moments this year that I always look forward to, so it took a toll on me. I was in a dark place for a while, but just like with a death of a loved one; I felt sorrow and grief and now acceptance. I’m coming out of the grieving process for losing someone that I loved. I loved playing Terry.

THR: I can imagine it’s tough to leave behind a character you’ve been playing for so many years.

Lowe: Yeah, it is, but I can put this behind me and move on to other things. And wait for the next project that I’m going to be right for.

THR: Did you think this was the right way for Terry to die?

Lowe: I went through phases of denial, like, “This isn’t the way to send him out. He needs to go out in a more noble way.” In dramatic terms, I think it does make sense. I kind of feel like I went out for the good of the many on this show. And for the fans. So, I think they did a beautiful job with writing me out.

THR: Are you going to watch the episode on Sunday?

Lowe: Yeah, I am. I don’t think I’m going to watch it with friends like I normally do. I might have a private viewing. I want to see how it plays.

THR: How do you think you’ll look back on this part of your career?

Lowe: Fondly. I made a lot of friends, I played a great part, I think I did a pretty good job at it. I made a little bit of money and I’ve been saving it. I don’t have to jump right into another project if it’s something I’m not really that excited about. I’m looking forward to the next phase.

THR: What do you want to do next?

Lowe: I’ve been doing a little bit of writing. I would like to get a show up and have a little bit more control on the production side. I’ve done some writing in the past, but I’m a novice, so I don’t know if it’s going to go anywhere. I’ve got a project that I’m kind of excited about. It would ideally be a comedy-drama that’s in a unique workplace based on some experiences that I had in my early twenties.

2 responses to “Hollywood Reporter Q&A with Todd Lowe

  1. lostinspace33

    He’s a class act and I’ve loved him since Gilmore Girls. I hope his future acting and writing projects are successful and we get to see a lot more of him.

  2. Not very happy about how they killed him off. Not Cool bro.

Leave a Reply

