Interview with Rob Kazinsky *spoilery*

Now that the secret is out that Ben is Glory Warlow, Rob Kazinsky is finally able to speak more openly about his character’s role this season.  Excerpts from his recent Access Hollywood interview below the Read More for those who are spoiler-averse.

AccessHollywood.com: The secret’s out: You are Warlow! How cool is it to finally talk freely about being the guy who has been after Sookie?

Rob Kazinsky: It’s cool… Ben has always seemed like a very bland character because you [couldn’t] show the fact that Ben was Warlow, otherwise it gives away the whole season’s secret. This is actually the first conversation I’ve been able to have where I say, ‘I’m Warlow.’ I didn’t even know when I got the job that I was Warlow. I auditioned to play Ben and then I actually found out from costume, way after I got cast, that I was playing Warlow. I’d watched Season 5. I’d seen everything. I was like, Warlow’s a bada**. I get to be a vampire-fairy? That’s cool as hell. And I’ve got so many things that I want to talk about, about Warlow. It’s so good to see that villains can have shades… that he doesn’t have to be an automatic evil vampire thing and the idea that he is a fairy? It has been hypothesized that Warlow could be a fairy-vampire, but what you’re about to see and what he is, is gonna supersede any kind of preconceived notions that people had of what that means.

Access: Because Warlow is part fairy, maybe it’s not such a bad thing for Sookie because he’ll emphathize with her.

Rob: You have to remember that everything that Ben says to Sookie in the previous three episodes is true. He is not faking how he feels. He is not faking what he has said, he is being absolutely honest. However, coming and meeting a woman and saying, ‘Hi! We’re meant to get married.[My emphasis — MVB] I killed your parents. I’m a vampire,’ is not gonna go down as planned. The idea was to create the character of Ben to earn her trust and then perhaps later on to be able to explain who he was and now, unfortunately, because of his own sense of conscience and generosity, he has been outed and fireworks are about to go off.

Access: How different of a vampire is Warlow compared to Bill or Eric?

Rob: Well, the difference is, he’s a day walker. He’s the only vampire that can appear in the day or walk in the day and has control of the light. … He isn’t a hybrid. He was a full fairy who is also a vampire, so he’s been around a long time. He’s not a creature of gray; he’s a creature of light. He is a victim. He’s one of the first vampires. He came from a place of sheer goodness and he’s been corrupted by vampires to serve their needs, but at his core, he is still just a fairy. … That constant battle between light and dark for him is really, really powerful. And the other thing that you’ll see with Warlow is that the darker it is, the more he’ll struggle with that darker side of him.

Access: Can we not trust his feelings for Sookie since he has that other side pulling at him?

Rob: Imagine a drug addict who is surrounded by his drug all day long. He hates himself every single time he indulges and he has to fight against his every single urge to take that drug. That is Warlow. He is a junkie who is trying his best and has been trying for thousands of years to be clean. It is a constant struggle within himself to manage the darker impulses that he has. He knows what is right and wrong and that’s the difference between a lot of the vampires on the show. [With Warlow], you have a victim and vampire in the same body.

Oooh, so what if Sookie is the one with an arranged marriage on the show instead of Eric?  And I still think that Eric and Sookie have some kind of mystical marriage already in place because of their blood exchange, so I can see inherent tension there.

4 responses to “Interview with Rob Kazinsky *spoilery*

  1. I hope somehow Sookie and Eric chose one another when they shared blood (we will become one). I think it’s funny how True Blood reversed the book and Sookie is having a hard time accepting what she and Eric shared when they were together. The season is a lot better than last season the writers are not all over the place. I’m wondering how Pam is going to take to her new sister because she hates her Aunt Nora.

    • I actually ended up liking Eric and Sookie’s time together on True Blood SO much better than the CH version. In the books, it is pretty clear that it’s just a fun roll in the hay for Sookie, but on the show, it was far deeper and more romantic to me. Which is also why I think they’re not done yet. And they sure made a point of showing how very much Eric loves Sookie at the beginning of the season — which tells me the subject is going to come up in the future. 🙂

  2. Interesting interview. I have to say I am curious about Warlow’s backstory & why he made the agreement with Sookie’s ancestor to begin with.

Leave a Reply

