KBVS on the sex scene we didn’t get to see

Vulture interviewed Kristin Bauer van Straten to talk about season six and Pam’s relationships with both Eric and Tara.  And they asked about something Pam referred to in the season opener — sex with Tara!  Excerpt below and you can read the entire interview here.

Although they got to cuddle on the beach. But I could swear they mentioned that they had had sex, and I was trying to figure out when did that happen?
Yeah! [Laughs.] I was, too. There have been many different revisions and different scripts, and there was a time where there was a version of a script where we did see more of that. But now, I’m not exactly sure when and where the writers are referring to. When would they have had time to do this? Before storming the Authority? I remember when I said, “We drank a bitch together, that doesn’t make us Oprah and Gayle,” so was it then? I don’t think so, because that first kiss felt like a first kiss, back in episode twelve of last season. So I’m imagining it was on the beach in the first episode of this season. That’s a possibility. What I’m imagining is that it was fairly tender and intimate, because that moment on the beach is a vulnerable moment that Pam allows to happen, and they’re really bonding. Pam can be like a turtle and pull back into her shell, so I think this was a real first for Pam, to be vulnerable and have another human being — well, another being, another entity, comfort her. She’s only had that with Eric.

Last season, you finally got the Pam-Eric backstory. What have you lobbied the new showrunners to include this season?
What I think would be really funny is to see Pam shoplifting, given that she never purchases anything! I think that would be hysterical. I started wondering, because in vampire lore vampires always have cool clothing, and they always have money, and that’s part of the allure — they don’t age, they don’t die, they don’t have our worries. And I thought, Why do they have money? Are they smart business people, because they’ve been around so long? That doesn’t totally explain it. They probably just steal, because they can. If you can vamp speed, you can get in and out of a bank anywhere. And you’re already living outside the human construct of the world, so it’s not a stretch morally.

Will the story lines eventually converge? Do the vampires we know and love get pulled into this Warlow conspiracy?
A lot of story lines do start overlapping. Different people want to fight differently, and they don’t all necessarily include each other. It’s a very challenging year for relationships. And our guest cast is so exceptional that if I don’t have a scene with them, I make sure to hunt them down after the table read or in the parking lot. That’s what I did with Rutger Hauer after the first episode. I’m such a fan of his. I have such reverence for his work, and he’s such an awesome, interesting person. Blade Runner is one of my favorite movies. So I just said, “I’m Kristin, I play Pam. We’re so happy to have you. How are you doing? Are you enjoying your work?” I just gushed over him like a fan would.

Leave a Reply

