Cover art for “After Dead” released

After Dead, the coda to the Sookie Stackhouse mystery series is scheduled to be released on October 29, 2013, but you don’t have to wait that long to get a sneak peek of the cover!

This is how After Dead is described on Amazon:

Dead Ever After marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels—a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show True Blood. It also stoked a hunger that will never die…a hunger to know what happened next.

With characters arranged alphabetically—from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli—bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favorite residents of Bon Temps and environs. You’ll learn how Michele and Jason’s marriage fared, what happened to Sookie’s cousin Hunter, and whether Tara and JB’s twins grew up to be solid citizens.

This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after…

The book will feature extensive interior art by acclaimed Sookie artist Lisa Desimini, including a Sookieverse Alphabet, color endpapers, and several full-page black and white interior illustrations.

After Dead cover

11 responses to “Cover art for “After Dead” released

    • Good catch, I hadn’t picked that up! I wonder if the colors are accurate? I was wondering about that orange top and whether it could possibly be construed as red.

      • I don’t know but the green eyes have me confused and worry. But I don’t know if anyone else in the SVM universe has green eyes….

        • I thought Sookie had blue eyes in the book, or am I just conflating the way she and Eric are constantly referred to has having similar coloring?

          • Nope in the book she has blue eyes. That is why I am confused by the green, but it has been green on every site and Facebook page.

            • Hmmm….interesting. I suppose it could be just a mistake/oversight, but what if it does mean something? I keep worrying about how IF Sookie is ending up with Eric they are going to deal with the differences in their longevity if Sookie is not getting turned. I’d be game for some other magical resolution to put them in the same time frame.

      • Or likes the color orange?

        • I was hoping red=Eric-friendly ending. I don’t recall if Sookie likes orange or not, though.

          • . I hope with all my heart I am wrong, but I think I’m going to be pissed. Unless she dies. But then it wouldn’t be her happily ever after then… But that’s my hubby guess.

            • If Sookie ends up with Sam, I’ll be disappointed. REALLY disappointed. Although part of me still thinks that just doesn’t make sense and I’m going to give up on an Eric happy ending unless I am forced to.

              Strangely, this suddenly made me flash back to my first huge book-ending disappointment, which was Jo marrying her German professor and Laurie marrying Amy in “Little Women.” I hated that more than I can say and I was probably 11 or 12 when I read that story. If I can survive that, I can survive anything else, especially now that I know about fanfiction.

  1. This image and your comments, so far, made me think of a fanfic story (my sincere apologies to the author as I can’t remember his/her name or the title) about Sookie/Eric/Sam in which Sookie decides to marry Sam and they have a daughter. Eric respects her choice to marry Sam, and stays out of her life … but they are still in each others’ hearts. When the daughter is very young (toddler maybe?) Sookie dies. Eric is aware of this, because of their connection, and regardless of any promises he may have made about not turning her – he does it anyway. As I recall, he’s able to do it in a way that it appears to everyone else that she’s just buried in the family cemetery. Sam grieves her and continues to raise their daughter while Eric and Sookie re-connect, and then eventually, she is able to be re-introduced to her daughter (but stays with Eric)
    Anyway … I know Charlaine has been very clear that Sookie will not become a vampire in her series, BUT when I saw this illustration with the green eyes (I think Charlaine’s Sam has green eyes), I thought that perhaps it’s not Sookie sitting there on the tombstone??

Leave a Reply

