WSJ interview with ASkars

More chatter on the possibility of ASkars playing Christian Grey and on filming the Encounter ad in this
Wall Street Journal interview, but per usual, I only excerpted the stuff I was personally interested in — which means stuff about Eric, of course! (Although the first part, which describes how he puts on fragrance, is included just because I got a kick out of that.)

Read the full interview here.  MILD spoilers.

Are you a fragrance kind of guy? Do you like wearing it?

Yeah, I do. I think the trick is in moderation.  I think what’s very sexy is we all have our personal scent, kind of like our fingerprint, so unique. The trick is not to overpower that.  You want the marriage between your scent and the fragrance. That creates something very sensual to me. As a young teenager I made the mistake of going all in and it was like a cloud. I was going to this disco when I was 13, like a school dance, and I just discovered fragrances. I had five different bottles and I thought they all smelled great so I figured that combining them was a great idea. I ended up alone, in a corner of the dance. People were 50 feet away because I was just a cloud of perfume walking around. I learned the hard way that less is more.

How do you wear it now?

One spray of the fragrance, that’s kind of it. Wrists [dabbing his writs] and then bottom of my ears  I do that [moved one wrist to one ear]and then like that [moved other wrist to his other ear].

Your character on “True Blood” was redeemed in an unexpected way this season. Did you like the twist?

AS: It was an interesting direction that Bill went to the dark side and not [Skarsgard’s character] Eric because Bill has always been this southern gentleman and kind of the good, sweet guy and Eric has been the darker one of the two. Instead of doing the obvious easy choice, instead of letting Eric go even darker and turn to some sort of villain again, if he ever was, and it’s cool that he now has to protect Sookie and that Bill has gone bat shit crazy.

How does shooting “True Blood” compare to this Calvin Klein short film?

This was different on one level because there’s no dialogue. That was a cool challenge of telling a story with no words. But that’s what I love about this job. One day you are covered in blood shooting True Blood and the next day you are doing this. I just wrapped this film in Vancouver called “Hidden” about a family in a bomb shelter. So from this to like dirty bomb shelter with rats and smoke and soot and fire, that’s what so great about this job.

You seem drawn to dark places.

I know. I need to talk to my shrink about that. I don’t know what that is about. What’s wrong with me?

Leave a Reply

