KBVS talks about Pam and Tara

With filming pushed back three months to accommodate Anna’s maternity leave, doesn’t it feel like a tremendous spoiler drought? But even if we aren’t getting spoilers, are least we are getting occasional interviews which may give us tiny insights into what has happened thus far.  This week, it was an interview at the Vault with Kristin Bauer van Straten.  I’ve excerpted a couple of the interesting Tara/Pam bits, but you may want to read the whole interview. 

The chemistry between you and Rutina Wesley is amazing. Pam and Tara are a joy to watch together. How do you create that chemistry between 2 characters?

“I’ve been so lucky on True Blood to be with Alex and to be with Rutina a lot and also Stephen and Anna. The great thing with Rutina is that we both really care and we love working together and trying things out. And there is an X-factor of luck; she is just amazing to work with. “

 

Pam and Tara are more alike than they would like to admit. How is their relationship growing?

“That’s exactly right, that’s what we’ve been playing, that we are more alike than we would like to admit. Especially from Pam’s perspective, that’s what I feel like I am playing is that I have respect for her. She is a kindred spirit who’s had hard times, comes from a hard past and is a tough fighter; they both have that in common. They never give up. Tara is starting to feel loyalty and respect for her maker and Pam has always felt loyalty and respect for Eric.”

 

Do you see any parallels in those 2 relationships?

“I do, as an actor I was looking for those throughout the season because as the season began and how they wrote it, me having a progeny was reminding me of my childhood, so to speak, with Eric. I was always looking for links in how either I would be rejecting my progeny because the relationship was so pale in comparison to what I had with Eric or, if it would bring out a softer side of Pam so I vacillated between those 2; first being really harsh, followed by letting the softer side come out and then putting the walls back up.”

 

Pam’s role has grown over the seasons, how do you see the development of her character?

“I’m so happy that they have given me so much. The writers are my creators, first Charlaine Harris and then the writers of True Blood. Last year when I got my own storyline with my face rotting I was so happy. But Alex and I had been asking for years about our relationship. Both of us were so happy to finally see it on paper and I thought it was just the most perfect explanation for both Eric and Pam. I found out at the end of season 4 that I was going to be Tara’s maker and we were both really excited about it. I think Rutina’s had a lot of fun becoming one of the supers. She was very excited about Comic Con this year and when I asked her why she was so excited this year she said that past year’s she went as a human and this year is got to go as a super. She is having a blast. I really think that vampires are the rock stars of the supernatural world. I joke with Sam [Trammell] sometimes that he is just a shape-shifter and the vampires are the cool kids. And Joe [Manganiello] is pretty happy being a werewolf, he doesn’t know any better, poor thing [laughs].”

 

Let’s talk about sex. Pam strikes me as a very sexual being, yet even Andy Bellefleur has had more sex than Pam. Do you feel left out that you have never worn the snatch patch?

“I did wear the snatch patch during my scene with Alex in bed before I was turned, but you never saw it on camera. So I have been initiated in being naked in front of the crew and Alex club, but I am fine with not being naked on screen. The one thing about being a vampire and being naked on screen is that you can’t have a spray tan. Every time I have been naked on screen that spray tan really helped me some psychologically. So I’m ok with the fact that most of my love scenes are hinted out or off screen, we’ll see if I’ll get away with it next season. It is nerve-wracking because the competition is really fierce on this show.”

 

Leave a Reply

