TVLine interview with Alan Ball *spoilery for season 6*

Michael Ausiello conducted a VERY long interview with Alan Ball concerning the finale and what to expect in season 6.  Excerpts below the Read More.

A couple of excerpts from the long and interesting interview:

TVLINE | So, is Bill God now?
I don’t want to say if he is or he isn’t. Who’s to say what Lilith really is? He is still Bill but he is something different.
TVLINE | So there is some of the old Bill in there?
It is Bill, but it is a transformed Bill. He is not a completely new person. It’s not like his memories or his experiences have been left out and he’s just a baby.
TVLINE | Can he revert back to the old Bill?
Well, that’s the question: Is he going to be evil? What does he want? What is he going to do? Will he be able to revert back to Bill? That’s for future seasons. The implication, certainly, is that he is more ferocious.
TVLINE | Did you ever consider introducing or unmasking Warlow in the finale?
No. We didn’t want to really define Warlow until the next season.
TVLINE | So he’ll definitely figure into Season 6?
I think he’ll be kind of a big part of it.
TVLINE | Is he someone we’ve met before?
No comment.
TVLINE | With Bill heading into Big Bad territory next season, does that make Eric now the hero of True Blood?
Remains to be seen. They’ve both been heroes in their own way. Eric was kind of like a mischievous cad, but I don’t think he was ever, like, a true villain the way that Russell was or the way that Maryann was. And he’s done a lot of really heroic things himself. So I never really looked at Eric as the bad guy and Bill as the good guy – at least not since the very early seasons. But it remains to be seen what will go down with both of them.
TVLINE | The finale was your swan song — how are you feeling?
It’s bittersweet. It’s been such a big part of my life for so long; of course it’s hard to step away. But running that show is such a huge job and I’ve been doing it for five years straight. I just don’t think I have another season left in me. I need to re-charge. And then I’m interested in doing something new — something with different characters and a different tone. As a writer, it’s fun to create. And once you get into a long-running show with very established characters and a very established tone and format, after a while it’s a really great job but that’s what it is — a job. You’re just continuing to create the same show. I’m at the point in my life where I don’t want to work as hard. Actually, I’ve had to take a good hard look at workaholism and it’s effect on one’s mental health. [Laughs] And, also, there are things I want to do that are different. I want to try something completely different.

Read More at: http://tvline.com/2012/08/26/true-blood-season-6-spoilers/#utm_source=copypaste&utm_campaign=referral

Leave a Reply

