The Piña Colada song — pro-Sooric?

I found myself humming Escape (The Piña Colada Song) today on the way home from work, thanks to that infamous scene with Sookie and Alcide.  For anyone who was around when it was first released in 1979, and can recall how insanely popular that little earworm was, you can appreciate my dismay that 30 years later, it is still getting stuck in my head! I was just whining to myself, “Why was this stupid POS song popular anyhow?” when I remembered why it was.

It wasn’t just the referencea to a then-popular drink or ro making love at midnight (which was so scandalous for public radio at the time that I had to sneak around to listen to it if my mother was around because those were “dirty” lyrics!) No, part of the reason it was so popular was for the clever punchline to the song: that the would-be new lover turns out to be the current one, who is also searching for something new. All that trouble to find someone new and it turns out the “perfect” person was the same one who had been there all along.

Yeah, I know it is a stretch that this applies to Eric and Sookie, but hey, I like the idea, so let me fondle it and pet it and call it “my precious” for a little while longer, please? 😉

Here are the full lyrics if you aren’t of an age to know them by heart (no matter how much you wanted to forget them over the years):

I was tired of my lady
We’d been together too long
Like a worn-out recording
Of a favorite song
So while she lay there sleeping
I read the paper in bed
And in the personal columns
There was this letter I read

“If you like Pina Coladas
And getting caught in the rain
If you’re not into yoga
If you have half a brain
If you’d like making love at midnight
In the dunes on the Cape
Then I’m the love that you’ve looked for
Write to me and escape.”

I didn’t think about my lady
I know that sounds kind of mean
But me and my old lady
Have fallen into the same old dull routine
So I wrote to the paper
Took out a personal ad
And though I’m nobody’s poet
I thought it wasn’t half bad

“Yes I like Pina Coladas
And getting caught in the rain
I’m not much into health food
I am into champagne
I’ve got to meet you by tomorrow noon
And cut through all this red-tape
At a bar called O’Malley’s
Where we’ll plan our escape.”

So I waited with high hopes
And she walked in the place
I knew her smile in an instant
I knew the curve of her face
It was my own lovely lady
And she said, “Oh it’s you.”
Then we laughed for a moment
And I said, “I never knew.”

That you like Pina Coladas
Getting caught in the rain
And the feel of the ocean
And the taste of champagne
If you’d like making love at midnight
In the dunes of the Cape
You’re the lady I’ve looked for
Come with me and escape

source: http://www.lyricsondemand.com/onehitwonders/pinacoladalyrics.html

 

Leave a Reply

