Kristin Bauer talks about Eric and Pam

If you haven’t seen 5.4, We’ll Meet Again, you may not want to read below the Read More.

Great interview with Kristin Bauer Van Strate when she talks about Eric releasing Pam and how both she and Alexander Skarsgard tried to persuade the writers to change the scene.

Excerpts:

What was it like filming the scene in which Eric releases Pam?
I wasn’t warned that would happen, so I really cried while I was reading it in the script. Alex [Skarsgard] and I talked and he said, “It’s so sad!” and I said, “I hate it. I’m not going to do it. I’m not gonna film it.” We went to executive producer Alex Woo, who wrote the episode, and complained. I went, “Why do I have to be released? I don’t want to be released,” and Alex went, “I don’t want to release her.” We argued with him about all the reasons Eric could protect Pam without releasing her, but they all just, you know, laughed at us and said “Action!” and we had to film it.

Well, you fought the good fight.
In the table read, I cried. In the rehearsal, I cried. When the camera was on Alex, I cried. I just thought it was so sweet and touching and emotional. I mean, the bond is going to be the same. Alex and I pretty much feel like the difference now is that Eric’s just going to have to call Pam on her cell phone. She’ll still give her life for him in a second. But yeah, I cried so much. My nose was running, and I said, “I know you’re going to turn my tears red in post, but what are you going to do about my snot? Can you take out snot in post? Because it’s going to be hideous.”

Pam is Tara’s vampire mom. How’s motherhood going to suit her?
Well, she only turned this bitch because of the hope and promise of being back with Eric. It’s like she’s stuck with this ball and chain. But what’s been fun to play is two people who’ve been trying to kill each other for a whole season, tied together immortally. Their conflict is so extreme because they’re actually fairly similar. Pam’s a tough love mother and Tara’s a tough girl.

Leave a Reply

